

Figure 2. NIH researcher checks sample in a gamma counter. Department, said he submitted a proposal involving the research program he heads on gammaemitting triplex-forming oligonucleotides with plans to combine his research with other NIH researchers who are studying the molecular mechanisms of treatments for diabetes and cancer.

Breaking the Barrier Between Intramural and Extramural Research

The need within NIH to find new avenues for collaborative imaging sciences research has resulted in some unconventional NIH partnerships with outside research centers, and this trend is expected to continue, according to Frost. "NIH is forging some new research relationships that are breaking down the traditional barrier between intramural and extramural programs and instead are being designed to promote the scientific and clinical objectives of the particular type of imaging research. What this means is that an NIH partnership today might combine intramural scientific resources and extramural funding, where this was not even considered a decade ago."

Since research priorities both within and outside of NIH now emphasize writing treatment protocols for major diseases such as diabetes and stroke, imaging sciences researchers are increasingly faced with the dilemma of finding large groups of study patients and sites to treat these patients. As a result, the Clinical Center and various institutes at NIH have become increasingly interested in partnerships with outside hospitals that provide access to a larger patient population in a more realistic clinical setting in exchange for NIH's providing scientific consultation, funding, and technological support. "The classic NIH clinical trial population is managed under a medical subspecialty and represents only a small fraction of the patients and scenarios in real clinical practice," explained US Navy Captain David Harlan, MD, head of the Immune Cell Biology Department at the Naval Medical Research Institute. Harlan is currently working on a collaborative research project involving islet cell transplantation with the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK). "On the other hand, clinical depart-

Presidential Award Given for PET Research

In recognition for a lifetime achievement in the field of nuclear energy, President Clinton named Michael E. Phelps, PhD, as a winner of the Enrico Fermi Award on February 18, 1999. Phelps is chairman of the Department of Molecular and Medical Pharmacology at the University of California at Los Angeles School of Medicine. He contributed to the invention and use of positron emission tomography (PET) and specifically contributed to PET's use in research and patient care in neurological disorders, cardiovascular disease and cancer. He also established and directed the first PET clinic for patient care. Clinton also announced that the award would be given to Maurice Goldhaber, PhD, a nuclear and particle physicist and distinguished scientist emeritus at Brookhaven National Laboratory in Upton, NY, who was the first person to accurately measure the mass of a neutron.

"It is a privilege to honor these scientists and their pioneering research," said President Clinton. "Dr. Goldhaber's work has contributed significantly to our understanding of the way the world works. Dr. Phelps made possible an innovative technology that has improved medical research and health care." Phelps and Goldhaber will each receive a gold medallion and a \$100,000 honorarium from U.S. Energy Secretary Bill Richardson during an awards ceremony on April 16 in Washington, D.C.

Phelps earned his PhD in chemistry from Washington University, St. Louis, in 1970. His early work applied nuclear physics, chemistry and mathematics to biomedical imaging. Goldhaber earned his PhD in physics at Cambridge University. He is the former director of Brookhaven and since his retirement has continued the study of neutrinos, most recently as part of the international collaboration of scientists who found evidence that neutrinos have mass.

The Fermi Award is the government's oldest science and technology award and was first given in 1956. It honors the memory of Enrico Fermi, leader of a group of scientists who achieved the first self-sustained, controlled nuclear reaction at the University of Chicago in 1952. Among the first recipients were physicists Robert Oppenheimer, PhD, Hans Bethe, PhD, and Ernest O. Lawrence, PhD.